Curry Lentil Soup – Gluten Free and Vegan

Flavorful broth and tasty lentils with onions and celery. I like this soup better than any other because it is not pureed smooth, so you can really taste the separate flavors and textures. My great aunt created the recipe and my mom makes it multiple times each winter. It also reheats perfectly. I have never actually made it before, but I am often her soux chef (even though it is a super simple soup). I love this soup, it is my favorite, and I think you will love it too. So I promised this recipe long ago, and here it is!

PRINT

Serves: 8
Prep Time: < 1 hour

Ingredients:

3 cloves Minced garlic
1 medium Diced onion
½ cup Chopped celery
3 – 4 cups Chicken broth
½ pound Green lentils
1 – 2 teaspoons Fresh lemon juice
1 small dash Sugar (optional)
1 small dash Cinnamon
¼ teaspoon Dry mustard
¼ teaspoon Turmeric
½ teaspoon Coriander powder
½ teaspoon Curry powder
1 each Bay leaf
½ teaspoon Salt
1-2 cups GF pasta, cooked according to package instructions (optional, I prefer not)

Directions:

Step 1:    Heat a large stock pot to medium heat and saute the onions, garlic, and celery until the onions are translucent.
Step 2:    Add the chicken broth, lentils, bay leaf, and salt, reduce the heat to low and simmer for 45 – 60 minutes, or until the lentils are soft, yet tender.
Step 3:    Stir in the lemon juice, sugar, and cinnamon.
Step 4:    In a very small saute pan, heat a few tablespoons of olive oil. (Making a varga) add the mustard, turmeric, coriander, and curry. Saute until the herbs are fragrant. Add the herbs to the soup, stir well, and enjoy!

1-img_20160928_1848303491-img_20160928_1848078731-img_20160928_1847414971-img_20160928_184638126

One Comment Add yours

  1. Annika says:

    Reblogged this on Art with Annika and commented:
    This is my favorite soup ever!!! Try making it, I am “Reblogging it from my sister’s site! Check it out!

    Like

Leave a comment? Please?

