Vegan ‘Cheeze’ Sauce – Gluten and Dairy Free

Creamy, cheesy, and totally amazing, this cheese sauce tastes like normal cheese sauce! I cannot tell the difference! It is also much healthier than cheese sauce because it is made of vegetables! ‘Amy’s’ sells a frozen meal that is cheesy pasta with potatoes, tofu, broccoli, and red pepper. It is really tasty but is full of gluten and dairy, of course. SO the other night I made a dairy free gluten free version! It was amazing! I am going to post the recipe ASAP, but it uses this cheeze sauce, so I had to post it first! This can be used as queso dip, poured on baked potatoes, used like alfredo sauce, and anything else you can think of! Most vegan cheese sauces I have seen use mostly cashews and nutritional yeast, which isn’t bad for you, but it is like eating nut butter. I truly have no idea why this recipe works and tastes so amazing, but it certainly does! I recommend this recipe so highly I hardly have the words for it, but my sister (she is not dairy free) absolutely loves it. She was telling our grandparents about it and asking me to make more! My mom (she is dairy free) liked it a lot and is surprised they don’t sell it at the store. This recipe is from (with a few minor adaptations) ‘Oh She Glows Everyday’ (great recipes!). I rewrote the directions and took my own pictures. Please enjoy this sauce (and stop missing real cheese or cheese sauce!)!

PRINT

Serves: About 1 cup of sauce
Prep Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:
¼ cup Raw cashews
1 ¼ cups Diced, peeled potatoes
1/3 cup Diced carrots (heaping)
2 tablespoons Grapeseed oil (or other neutral oil)
2 tablespoons plus 1 ½ teaspoons Water
1 ½ teaspoons Lemon juice
½ teaspoon Salt
2 cloves Garlic (no need to mince!)
½ teaspoon Red wine vinegar (white wine vinegar would probably work too, but we didn’t have any)
To taste Chohula or your favorite hot sauce (optional, but recommended)

Directions:
Step 1: Place the cashews in a bowl full of water and soak overnight or place them in a bowl full of boiling water and soak for 1-2 hours.
Step 2: Boil the potatoes and carrots until they are soft.
Step 3: Place all the ingredients except the hot sauce in a blender and blend until very smooth. Add hot sauce to taste. Use like normal (dairy) cheese sauce! Enjoy!

1-img_26171-img_2615

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’ll right away grab your rss feed aas I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me recognize so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

    1. Zoe says:

      At the base of my home page, you can enter your email address to subscribe. If you have a WP account, you can also subscribe by pressing the follow button.

      Like

  2. definitely going to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zoe says:

      You will love it!

      Like

Leave a comment? Please?

