Healthy and Rich Avocado Zucchini Brownies – Gluten and Dairy Free

on

1-IMG_20160730_164015472Gooey, rich and fudgy, yet absolutely chock full of zucchini and avocado! My reasoning is as follows. You can sub applesauce for oil – most of the time. And you can sub pureed zucchini for applesauce, though not when it is being used to sweeten something. So that means you can sub pureed zucchini for oil! Right!?! Well, I was excited to test my theory, so I found a regular (not GF) avocado brownie recipe (because I wanted to play with avocado as well). I made some changes and made it GF, and then I simply subbed my pureed zucchini for the melted coconut. So I forgot (yeah, right) to taste the green mixture, but the completed brownie surprised my family and I! I think it turned out very well, especially because there is no oil and a pretty tiny amount of sugar! Recipe adapted, quite heavily, from ‘Baked by an Introvert’. I think they would be incredible with ganache and strawberries. Enjoy!

PRINT

Yields: About 16 large brownies
Prep Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup GF flour blend (I used a mix of Namaste and Bob’s Red mill 1 to 1 flour blend. Please note, this is different than their normal blend which has bean flour and doesn’t work very well)
1/3 cup Cocoa powder (Natural or Dutch processed, I used natural)
½ teaspoon Baking soda
¼ teaspoon Salt
1/3 cup Pureed zucchini
½ cup Ripe avocado, mashed until very smooth
1/3 cup Brown sugar, scant and packed lightly
¼ cup White sugar
1 each Large egg
2 teaspoons Vanilla extract
½ cup DF chocolate chips optional, I did not use them, but I thought they would be a good idea)

Directions:

Step by step jpegStep 1:     Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a nine inch pan by greasing heavily.
Step 2:     In a small bowl, whisk together the GF flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.
Step 3:     In a large bowl, whisk to combine the zucchini, avocado, and sugars until fully combined. The mixture will be bright green.
Step 4:     Beat in the egg and vanilla extract. Beat until slightly foamy.
Step 5:     Stir in the flour mixture until well combined. Add the chocolate chips, if desired.
Step 6:     Pour in the prepared pan and bake in the preheated oven for 10 to fifteen minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out slightly gooey, but still cooked.
Step 7: Remove from oven and let cool before enjoying. The brownies are gooiest when cold.

1-IMG_20160730_164015472

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristen says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!

    It’s the little changes which will make the largest changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Annika says:

    Even more great after a day/night in the frig!!! Yummm, makes my my mouth water even thinking about it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zoe says:

      Hmm. Interesting theory!☺️

      Like

Leave a comment? Please?

