Tofu, Mango, and Peanut Wraps – Gluten and Dairy Free

on

1-20160716_182652Sounds like an odd combo. It is. It is also a wonderful combination. The creamy peanut sauce, the juicy mangoes, crispy tofu, and spicy jalapenos turn out to taste absolutely incredible! Now, this was a multi-step process that took me half of the afternoon, (especially because I had no idea how to cut a mangoJ) but I thought it was incredible and totally worth it. The idea comes from Cookie and Kate, but I changed many things. I used the best peanut sauce in the world (in my mind) (which is in this recipe but I will post on its own soon) instead of her recipe and I cut the jalapeño way down (but my dad sprinkled extra on top, he likes things super spicy!) I also doubled the tofu, because, well, who doesn’t want more tofu??? I used green cabbage but I do not recommend it. It was very tough and hard to chew. I recommend Napa cabbage or lettuce. You could also lightly steam green cabbage for the wraps. Enjoy!

PRINT

Serves: About ten wraps, depending on how full you stuff them (I got too much cabbage prepped)
Prep Time: 2-3 hours (If you are really speedy you could do it in less than 2 hours)

Ingredients:

For the peanut sauce: You will need
One 13.5 ounce can Light coconut milk (you can use full fat as well but it was super creamy with light)
¼ cup Red curry paste
¾ cup Smooth, unsweetened peanut butter
½ cup White sugar
2 tablespoons Apple cider vinegar
1/8 cup Water
For the mango pico: You will need
2 each Diced mangoes
½ each Large red bell pepper
½ each Minced jalapeno
½ each Juiced lime
1/8 teaspoon Salt
5 each Chopped green onions
For the tofu: You will need
2 blocks Tofu, drained, pressed, and either chopped into cubes or sliced
2 tablespoons Olive oil
2 tablespoons Tamari or any other GF soy sauce
4 teaspoons Cornstarch
½ cup Roasted peanuts
10 leaves Cabbage, lettuce, tortilla, collards, or any other thing to wrap in

Directions:

Step 1:    In a small saucepan, stir to combine all the ingredients for the peanut sauce together.
Step 2:    On medium heat, bring to a boil, whisking constantly. Simmer for about 5 minutes or until sauce has thickened.
Step 3:    Set aside.
Step 4:    Stir together the ingredients for the mango pico and place in the refrigerator to chill.
Step 5:    Whisk together the tamari, olive oil, and cornstarch. Stir in the tofu.
Step 6:    Let the tofu sit in the marinade for a minute and then remove it.
Step 7:    In a large frying pan, on medium heat, sauté tofu for a few minutes and then flip when the tofu is crispy and brown. Stir in the about a cup of peanut sauce and the peanuts.
Step 8:    Assemble wraps by filling wrapping material with tofu, mango pico, and more peanut sauce. Enjoy!

Step by step tofu

Step by step all

1-20160716_182652

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    I love the way the mango chutney, tofu and peanut sauce (the best in the world, I am told) is displayed in the cabbage leaf. I can imagine it on a appetizer tray that I would enjoy serving to my guests.

    Like

  2. Annika says:

    It’s compleatly awesome

    Like

Leave a comment? Please?

