Raspberry Chia Jam – Gluten and Dairy Free

I have an interesting history with chia jam. I thought I made it up. I had no idea it existed and came up with it. A few months ago, I saw a recipe for chia jam. Apparently, I did not come up with it L. Anyway, it is really cool because it is higher in protein and lower in sugar – than normal jam. I used freezer jam, which is really thin, and the chia makes it thick. You can used pureed fruit or pre prepped jam. I love this spread on zucchini bread(didn’t upload correctly on Wednesday, but you can click on the link) because I don’t want full force jam and because it is super filling. It thickens substantially within ten minutes; but really firms up after a night in the refrigerator. (My pictures are from before refrigeration) Enjoy!

PRINT

Serves: About a quarter cup of jam
Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon Chia seeds
2 fluid ounces Water
2 tablespoons Jelly, Jam, or pureed fruit (Optional)

Directions:

Step 1:    In a small bowl stir to combine chia and water.
Step 2:    Add your choice of fruit goo and stir together.
Step 3:    Let stand ten minutes at a minimum before using.

1-20160713_114202

One Comment Add yours

  1. This looks really good! I’ve been wanting to try a Chia Jam. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment? Please?

