‘Penne ala Pesto’ (Dairy and gluten free)

IMG_20160601_183632.jpg
A light and springy pasta dish, perfect for hot nights. It is flavorful but not heavy, and you can’t taste the dairy free aspect. I think it would be incredible with roasted butternut squash or asparagus. My mom and I made it in under fifteen minutes the other night. The most amazing part is I harvested peas from our garden and we were eating them in less than fifteen minutes! Even though they don’t sound like they would go well together, we added tofu on top for some protein. I decided Italian food and tofu go very well together! I liked this dish because the ‘cream’ sauce is not heavy, but light. One of my favorite parts about this dish was sometimes the peas made their way inside the penne. When you ate it, the pea would pop in your mouth. It was always a tasty surprise!

PRINT

Serves: 5
Prep Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

6 ounces Gluten free penne, cooked according to package instructions
1 – 3 cups Peas (We used Maestro shelling peas from our garden… They were delicious) (We  got a bumper crop of peas so used an abundance)
½ cup Unsweetened soy creamer (You can replace with alternative milk)
1 ½ cups Cashew milk or other nondairy milk
½ cup Basil pesto
2 crowns Broccoli, chopped into chunks and steamed lightly
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese or parmesan cheese substitute (Optional)
¼ teaspoon Dried basil
1 teaspoon Garlic powder
¼ teaspoon Sea salt
½ teaspoon Black pepper
½ cup Toasted pine nuts
2-3 tablespoons Parmesan or parmesan substitute, for sprinkling (Optional)

Directions:

Step 1:    In a large saucepan, combine the penne, peas, pesto, soy creamer, and cashew milk.
Step 2:    Cook at medium heat until the peas burst in your mouth and the penne is hot.
Step 3:    Add the broccoli and cheese, stir to combine.
Step 4:    Add the basil, garlic, salt, and pepper. Stir until well combined.
Step 5:    Sprinkle the pine nuts and parmesan on top and enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marcia and Tom Ballard says:

    This sounds good. I will try it but will probably use dairy milk since that is what I have. I miss the picture of this!!! I didn’t connect to you blog when I clicked on it. I will try again later. Those peas sound amazing. I will try to get some tomorrow at the Farmers Market!
    Love,
    Grandma

    Like

    1. Zoe says:

      I hope you enjoy it! We just made it again tonight! Dairy milk will definitely work, we used to use it! Try going to my blog on your Web browser. Your url on your email might be invalid because I changed the picture after posting. Enjoy!

      Like

Leave a comment? Please?

