Strawberry Shortcake (Gluten and dairy free)

This dessert was an adventure. It pushed me into the realm of coconut cream and dairy free adaptations. I think it turned out pretty incredible. We went to the farmer’s market and my favorites, hood strawberries, were being sold. The biggest problem with hoods, though, is that they decompose in about three days. That means you eat strawberries. For three days straight. But you have to eat them in different ways, of course! I did some research and soon discovered I would have to make my own recipe. I made one batch of shortcake with real flour, milk, and butter. No idea how it tasted, but it looked good as well, so if you can eat gluten and dairy, you do not have to use the alt stuff! I referred to Jennifer’s shortcake recipe on allrecipes and Minimalist Baker’s coconut cream recipe. Enjoy!

PRINT

Serves: 9 large desserts
Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 10-15 minutes

Ingredients:

2 cups GF flour (I used Namaste)
¾ cup White Sugar
4 teaspoons Baking powder
½ teaspoon Kosher salt
½ cup (1 stick) Unsalted Vegan Margarine (I used earth balance)
1 each Large egg
½ teaspoon Pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup Nondairy milk or creamer (I used a mix of cashew and soy creamer)
1 14 ounce can Coconut cream
½ cup Powdered sugar
2 pints Fresh strawberries (I used hoods… Obviously)
2-3 tablespoons White sugar (Very optional!)

Directions:

Step 1:    Three hours before beginning, put the coconut cream in the refrigerator (still closed)
Step 2:    Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Grease a nine inch pan and set aside.
Step 3:    Make the shortcake. Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
Step 4:    Cut the butter into chunks. Using your hands or two forks, cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
Step 5:    In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, and vanilla.
Step 6:    Add the wet to the dry and stir. The mixture will be crumbly and unable to hold its shape.
Step 7:    Press it into the prepared pan. Get the top as flat as possible, or the peaks will burn.
Step 8:    Place in the preheated oven and bake for five minutes.
Step 9:    Sprinkle an optional tablespoon of sugar on the top of the shortcakes and bake for another 5-10 minutes.
Step 10:  Remove the coconut cream (DO NOT shake) from the refrigerator and scoop out the solids.
Step 11:  Place them in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat at high speed for about thirty seconds, or until creamy and light.
Step 12:  Add the powdered sugar and vanilla extract and beat until stiff peaks form. (This is ‘whipped cream’)
Step 13:  Remove the stem from the strawberries and slice them in half. Add the sugar and stir until well combined.
Step 14:  Slice the shortcakes and layer strawberries and coconut whipped cream together and enjoy!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Annika says:

    I tasted it, it was awesome!!!

    Like

    1. Zoe says:

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. pinkiebag says:

    I’m going to save this recipe for later. I love shortcake and it’s the time of year to enjoy strawberries, so perfect. Oh and coconut cream is a fab way to top it off. Thanks for sharing, Chloe.
    https://pinkiebag.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zoe says:

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dad says:

    The coconut cream on top is so delicious. From now on, I am going to feel like I am missing out when I have plain whipped cream.

    Like

  4. Mama says:

    This was an amazing dessert! I loved my dairy free version. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Zoe says:

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment? Please?

