Baked Ziti (Dairy and gluten free)

I have a lot of blog post ideas in mind all the time! The problem is, I often don’t have a picture and I am NOT posting a recipe without a picture. I always take pictures of desserts I make, but rarely of meals. This often results in me posting treats. I have a picture of this dish, though! There is an incredible lentil soup that I want to post so badly. We have been making it for probably almost a decade and there isn’t a single picture! This is my single biggest problem with summer. No soup. For over three months. But alas, I get to make interesting salads for three months straight. So, maybe lentil soup in a couple of months?

For a while my mom has been making a baked ravioli dish with shredded vegetables and provolone cheese. But all that comes to a crashing halt when I can’t eat gluten and she can’t eat dairy. So… Baked ziti was born! I used parmesan cheese, but if you can’t have that, it isn’t necessary. If you want it a little gooier, you could probably use a dairy free mozzarella cheese. This dish is healthier because it is full of vegetables! You can use any vegetables, my favorites are on the recipe. (Please try out my new rating system at the bottom of the recipe if you make it. I am discovering new WordPress functions every day 🙂 )

PRINT

Serves: 8-10 reasonably sized portions
Prep Time: < 1 hour

Ingredients:

1 twelve ounce package Gluten free pasta cooked according to package instructions (Any shape works. I used Barilla Rotini. I know, should have used ziti!)
About 4 cups Marinara or tomato puree
1 each Zucchini, shredded
2 each Carrot, shredded
1 cup Kale or spinach, chopped
1 each Onion, diced
1 each Red pepper
¼ teaspoon Black pepper
¼  teaspoon Salt
½ teaspoon Garlic powder
½ teaspoon Italian seasoning
½ teaspoon Dried basil
1 crown Broccoli, steamed lightly
1 cup Parmesan cheese, grated (Optional)

Directions:

Step 1:    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a nine by thirteen with cooking spray and set aside.
Step 2:    Grab vegetables form your garden, bring them in, and prep them.
Step 3:    Heat a splash of olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat.
Step 4:    Toss in the onion, cook until translucent. Add the red pepper and kale or spinach (or both!). When the greens are wilted, throw in the shredded veggies until soft.
Step 5:    Add the spices and the broccoli.
Step 6:    In the prepared pan, add about half the pasta and about half the marinara. Stir to combine. Sprinkle about half the cheese on top.
Step 7:    Spread the veggies on top of the pasta mixture. Top with a little more tomato sauce.
Step 8:    Pour the rest of the pasta on top. Add the tomato sauce and cheese.
Step 9:    Place in the preheated oven and bake until the cheese is melted or the pasta is hot.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dad says:

    This was a delicious dinner. I especially liked all of the vegetables.

    Like

Leave a comment? Please?

