Blueberry Chia Smoothie (Dairy and gluten free)

Costco sells huge bags of frozen blueberries! We got a bag and I had to figure out how to use it! I decided on smoothies. I added chia to it for protein and as a thickener. It turned out phenomenally! I had it for dinner and breakfast and found it very filling. It is blueberry –y, fruity and perfectly smooth. Currently my favorite smoothie! Enjoy!

PRINT

Serves: 3-4
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons Chia seeds
4 ounces Nondairy milk (I used cashew)
2 cups Blueberries (fresh or thaw frozen ones)
1 cup Frozen strawberries
1 cup Nondairy milk (I used cashew)
½ cup Applesauce (Preferably unsweetened)
10 each Ice cubes

Directions:

Step 1:    In a small bowl, stir together four ounces of milk and the chia seeds. Put the mixture in the refrigerator for about ten minutes, or until it is a very thick gel.
Step 2:    Blend together the cup of nondairy milk, the applesauce, and the chia gel until smooth. The chia will smooth out pretty well, but don’t worry if it stays chunky.
Step 3:    Add the berries and ice cubes and blend until very smooth.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marcia Ballard says:

    I like the pictures you show for each of your recipes! This looks beautiful, yummy and healthful! Will you fix one of these for me this summer when we visit? I am so glad that you are finding such a nice variety of foods that work for your gluten-free and mostly dairy free diet …and that you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zoe says:

      Of course I will! Have a great day!

      Like

Leave a comment? Please?

